Thursday, December 8, 2022

ECP issued election schedule for Punjab MPAs vacant seats

According to the announcement made by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), voting for a by-election to fill 20 general seats in the Punjab Assembly will take place on July 17.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has released a schedule for the elections that will be held to fill the 20 provincial seats that were vacated after defecting MPAs from the PTI were de-seated.

The timeline said that candidates could submit their candidacy papers for the by-election between the dates of June 4 and June 7. According to the ECP’s statement, the examination of nomination documents will take place on June 11.

On June 24, the election symbols for each candidate will be made public, and voting will take place on July 17.

On Friday, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) removed from their seats 25 dissident Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) MPAs for voting for PML-N candidate Hamza Shahbaz Sharif in the election for Punjab chief minister.

On Tuesday, the election board decided to withhold its ruling on the reference seeking the disqualification of 25 dissident PTI MPAs who are currently serving in the Punjab Assembly.

The reference against 25 lawmakers, including five members sitting in reserved seats, had been sent by the Speaker of the Punjab Assembly, Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi.

Read Also: ECP officially de-notified 25 PTI MPAs who voted for Hamza Shahbaz

The dissident Punjab lawmakers include Mohsin Atta Khan Khosa, Mian Khalid Mehmood, Abdul Aleem Khan, Nazir Ahmed Chohan, Malik Ghulam Rasool Sangha, Saeed Akbar Khan, Mohammad Ajmal, Mohammad Amin Zulqernain, Malik Nauman Langrial, Mohammad Salman, Zawar Hussain Warraich, Nazir Ahmed Khan, Fida Hussain, Zahra Batool, Mohammad Tahir, Aisha Nawaz, Sajida Yousaf, Haroon Imran Gill, Malik Asad Ali, Ijaz Masih, Uzma Kardar, Faisal Hayat, Raja Sagheer Ahmed, and Mohammad Sabtain Raza.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Latest news
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x