Tuesday, November 29, 2022

LHC remove 25 PTI MPAs from their seats, appoint new members on reserved seats

Lahore High Court (LHC) has been petitioned by Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) in order to ensure the prompt de-seating of members in the Punjab Assembly (MPAs) who have been disqualified by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) and the oath-taking of new members.

The motion was handed over to the Chief Justice of the Lahore High Court (LHC) by the counsel for the PTI, who also provided specifics regarding the occurrences at the Punjab Assembly earlier today.

He contended in his petition that dissident PTI legislators have no right to attend the sessions of the Punjab Assembly after they have been disqualified and removed from their seats by the electoral commission. “The court should ensure the oath of new members on reserved seats that fell empty after PTI legislators got de-seated,” he said. “The court should ensure oath of new members on restricted seats.”

Counsel for the PTI, Azhar Siddique, stated that the chief justice has requested that they present their argument the following day as required by the procedure. According to what he indicated, the court is going to consider the plea tomorrow.

On Friday, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) removed from their seats 25 dissident Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) MPAs as a result of their voting for the PML-N candidate Hamza Shehbaz Sharif in the election for Punjab chief minister.

On Tuesday, the election board decided to withhold its judgment on the reference seeking the disqualification of 25 dissident PTI MPAs who are currently serving in the Punjab Assembly. The Speaker of the Punjab Assembly, Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi, was the one who initiated the reference against the deviant members.

Read Also: Imran Khan announces PTI long march in Islamabad on May 25

The dissident Punjab lawmakers include Nazir Ahmed Chohan, Uzma Kardar, Faisal Hayat, Raja Sagheer Ahmed, Abdul Aleem Khan, Malik Ghulam Rasool Sangha, Saeed Akbar Khan, Mohammad Ajmal, Mohammad Amin Zulqernain, Malik Nauman Langrial, Mohammad Salman, Zawar Hussain Warraich, Nazir Ahmed Khan, Fida Hussain, Zahra Batool, Mohammad Tahir, Aisha Nawaz, Sajida Yousaf, Haroon Imran Gill, Malik Asad Ali, Ijaz Masih, Mohammad Sabtain Raza, Mohsin Atta Khan Khosa, Mian Khalid Meh.

The judgment by the ECP came just a few days after the Supreme Court’s ruling on the interpretation of Article 63 (A), in which it was announced that invalid ballots will not be counted.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Latest news
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x