Wednesday, February 1, 2023

Raja Pervaiz Ashraf elected National Assembly speaker unopposed

In the absence of any other candidates submitting nomination papers against him, Raja Pervaiz Ashraf, a lawmaker from the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), was chosen as the 22nd Speaker of the National Assembly.

Mr. Raja Pervaiz Ashraf, who previously served as prime minister, was sworn in by Ayaz Sadiq, a member of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz.

In accordance with the PTI’s resolution minutes before the vote on the no-confidence motion against then Prime Minister Imran Khan on April 9, the Speaker’s position became vacant as Asad Qaiser tendered his resignation in accordance with the PTI’s decision.

Raja Pervaiz Ashraf gave a brief address shortly after taking over as speaker of the National Assembly, in which he congratulated his party leaders, the prime minister, and the members of the assembly.

Qasim Suri, the Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly, resigned from his position on Saturday, just days before a vote on a no-trust motion was scheduled.

In response to a four-point agenda that included a vote on a no-confidence resolution against Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri, the lower house of parliament called for his resignation. 

However, the National Assembly session, which was originally scheduled to take place on Saturday has been postponed till April 22nd. According to the criteria of the National Assembly, the schedule was amended by the then-acting speaker, Qasim Suri.

Read Also: Deputy Speaker Punjab Assembly Dost Muhammad Mazari attacked with lotas

A notification from the National Assembly’s secretariat stated that “the adjustment in the schedule has been made by the acting speaker in accordance with Rule 49(2) of the Rules and Procedure for the Conduct of the Business in the National Assembly 2007.”

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Latest news
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x