Tuesday, October 4, 2022

PML-N will have 12, PPP 7 members in federal cabinet: sources

Shehbaz Sharif, the prime minister of Pakistan, has decided the number of PML-N members in his federal cabinet 12, while the PPP getting seven seats.

After Imran Khan was dismissed from power by a vote of no confidence, PM Shehbaz was sworn in as prime minister on April 11 — making him the first prime minister in Pakistan to be deposed through the democratic process.

According to the sources, Raja Pervez Ashraf is running for speaker of the National Assembly, which is currently vacant after Asad Qaiser decided to resign late Saturday. A JUI-F MNA is likely to be appointed deputy speaker, while Qasim Suri is also facing a no-confidence motion.

Meanwhile, in addition to the PML-N and PPP members in the federal cabinet, the JUI-F will receive three ministries and a state minister portfolio, while the MQM-P, BAP, and BNP-M would each receive a portfolio of two ministries. According to insiders, independent candidates are also likely to be appointed to ministerial positions.

Read Also: Names of governors and bureaucrats in Shehbaz Sharif’s govt have revealed

According to sources, the MQM-P will be elected governor of Sindh, followed by the PPP in Punjab, the JUI-F in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, and the BNP-M in Balochistan.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Latest news
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x