Friday, February 3, 2023

Names of aides to former PM Imran Khan added to ‘stop list’

The Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) placed the names of six senior advisers to former Pakistani Prime Minister Imran Khan on a stop list on Sunday.

Being on the list prevents individuals from traveling outside of the country without permission.

There have been additions to the list that include Shahbaz Gill, an ex-adviser to the prime minister on interior and accountability Shahzad Akbar, Azam Khan, a former principal secretary to the prime minister, Director-General Punjab Gohar Nafees, and DG Federal Investigation Agency Punjab Zone Mohammad Rizwan, according to sources.

According to reliable sources, the name of Dr. Arsalan Khalid, the PTI’s director of social media, has also been added to the list.

The incident comes after Imran Khan, the chairman of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), was expelled from office by a no-confidence motion in the National Assembly (NA), becoming the country’s first premier to be deposed in this manner.

After retiring from his position as National Assembly chair, Ayaz Sadiq stepped in to serve as the session’s moderator, along with other members of his panel.

Read Also: Timing of the NA session changed to elect a new prime minister for Pakistan

“The resolution for the vote of no-confidence against Mr. Imran Khan, the prime minister of Pakistan, has been carried by a majority of the members,” Ayaz Sadiq stated after the voting process was concluded. “174 members have recorded their votes in favor of the resolution,” Sadiq said.

The FIA implemented stop list’ system in 2003 to prevent undesirable individuals from attempting to leave the nation in the shortest period of time feasible, as registering someone’s name on the ECL takes a long time.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Latest news
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x