Wednesday, October 5, 2022

Treasury MNAs will be absent on the voting day of no-trust move

On the day of the vote on a no-trust move against Prime Minister Imran Khan, Members of the National Assembly (MNAs) from the treasury benches will be absent.

After a consultative gathering of federal ministers at the Speaker’s House to devise a strategy to suppress a no-confidence move against the premier, this occurrence took place.

According to individuals with knowledge of the event, the meeting resolved that the MNAs from the treasury benches would be missing on the voting day of the no-trust move and that it would be the responsibility of the opposition to get the total number of parliamentarians to 172.

The meeting also examined issues relating to deviant members, with the addition that the possibility of taking action against them was mentioned.

No-Trust move:

A no-confidence resolution against Prime Minister Imran Khan was tabled earlier this week, and the leader of the Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q), Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain, requested more time.

The National Assembly secretariat received a no-trust motion against Prime Minister Imran Khan on Tuesday, which was submitted by the joint opposition.

Read Also: Six more PTI lawmakers ready to join Tareen group

In addition, the opposition filed a requisition notice, requesting that the lower house of Parliament convene in order to debate the no-trust motion.

The no-trust motion was submitted in the National Assembly Secretariat by PML-N members Khawaja Saad Rafique, Marriyum Aurangzeb, Ayaz Sadiq, Rana Sanaullah, PPP members Naveed Qamar and Shazia Marri, and JUI-F member Shahida Akhtar Ali.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Latest news
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x