Sunday, October 2, 2022

KP LG Elections: Re-polling begins in 13 districts

On Sunday, re-elections for local government (LG) positions in the province of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) began in the province’s 13 districts.

It is expected that the polling process will continue uninterrupted until 5 p.m., according to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), which began at 8 a.m today.

To accommodate the re-voting for the KP LG elections, more than 500 polling stations have been set up in KP.

According to the Election Commission, re-elections are being held for the positions of City Mayor, Tehsil Chairman, Neighborhood and Village Council members, for which polling had been suspended during the first phase of local body elections due to a brawl and the deaths of candidates, among other reasons.

Charsadda, Nowshera, Khyber, Mohmand, Mardan, Kohat, Karak, Bannu, Lakki Marwat, Dera Ismail Khan, Buner, Bajaur, and Peshawar are among the 13 districts in the province of KP. On Election Day, security arrangements have also been put in place to ensure that law and order are maintained.

Read Also: Free Robotic surgery launched in Sindh at SIUT

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) had previously announced on February 10 that the voting for the second phase of the KP LG elections would take place on March 31.

Official public notices had been issued by the returning officers informing the public of the polling dates for the second phase of local body elections in seven districts in each of the Malakand and Hazara divisions, as well as four tribal districts.

On Wednesday, the Supreme Court of Pakistan suspended the Peshawar High Court’s (PHC) decision, which had postponed the second phase of local government elections in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa until further notice (KP).

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Latest news
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x