Friday, December 9, 2022

According to the FBR, over 100 MPs do not pay income taxes

The Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) recently discovered that over a hundred members of parliament had either not paid income tax or had failed to register with the Federal Board of Revenue, according to public documents.

According to the most recent available data, a total of 161 members of Parliament out of the total of 1,170 members of Parliament have not paid any taxes or submitted any tax returns.

Despite the fact that they together own assets valued at Rs. 35 billion, these members of Parliament are in violation of tax rules, according to the law. Some of them are not even registered with the tax authorities, according to official data, which indicates that some of them are.

Over 103 members of Parliament are said to have a combined net worth of Rs. 8 billion, although they do not pay any taxes on their profits, according to official documents.

Two members of Prime Minister Imran Khan’s cabinet are members of parliament from significant political parties, despite the fact that 76 of the 103 members of parliament are from such parties, according to the latest numbers. According to official documents, these politicians appear to be on the list of “inactive taxpayers.”

Four members of Parliament who are not active taxpayers have purchased residences worth millions of pounds in a variety of locations, including Dubai, Norway, and London, among others, over the previous decade. About a dozen of them, on the other hand, have established legally binding businesses in the country, such as construction companies and petrol stations.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Latest news
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x