Thursday, February 22, 2024

Johar Town Blast: Four Out of Nine Suspects Sentenced to Death

On Wednesday, an Anti-Terrorism Court (ATC) in Lahore condemned four suspects to death on nine counts each in connection with the Johar Town blast case.

The verdict was issued by ATC Judge Arshad Hussain Bhutta, who had previously reserved his decision until the conclusion of the parties’ arguments.

While the death sentences were handed down to the four accused (Peter Paul, Eid Gul Khan, Zia Ullah, and Sajjad), the fifth accused (Ayesha Gul) received a five-year prison sentence as well as a fine.

Read Also: Shafqat Mahmood Calls Meeting to Make Decision Regarding School

Three individuals were killed and 24 others were injured when a massive explosion ripped through Lahore’s Johar Town in June 2021. The explosion claimed the lives of six-year-old Abdul Haq, his father Abdul Malik, and a bystander.

The explosion produced a hole on the road that was four feet deep and eight feet broad, as well as damage to several neighboring residences and businesses.

The Lahore bombing, according to Moeed Yusuf, was sponsored by India, and the individual in charge of coordinating the attack was affiliated with the RAW intelligence agency, according to the news conference.

Read Also: 2,000 New Corona Cases in Last 24 Hours in Pakistan

“RAW is responsible for the Johar Town blast,” the National Security Agency (NSA) had stated, adding that India is involved in terrorist attacks against the country.

In a joint statement issued on July 4, National Security Adviser Moeed Yusuf and Information Minister Fawad Chaudhry claimed that India was responsible for the Johar Town bombing in Lahore.

Leave a Reply

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Read more

Latest news
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x