Wednesday, March 22, 2023

Eight candidates submit nominations for Vawda Senate seat

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Monday published a list of candidates who had submitted nomination papers for a Senate seat that had become vacant following the lifetime disqualification of PTI leader Faisal Vawda.

According to the election-monitoring organization, as many as eight candidates submitted their paperwork.

These individuals include Nisar Khuhro, president of the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) in Sindh, Gul Mohammad Jakhrani, Mukhtar Ahmed, Ajiz Damrah, Ali Palh, Shozeb Kapadia, Arsalan Agha, Aman Kazi, and Tahir Shah.

Read Also: Mohsin Baig case: IHC issues notice of contempt to FIA director

According to the Election Commission of Pakistan, voting for the empty Senate seat will take place on March 9 in the Sindh Assembly building.

On February 9, the panel ruled that Vawda was permanently disqualified under Article 62(1)(f) of the Constitution.

Read Also: Faisal Vawda asks for an early hearing of his appeal against disqualification

Vawda was disqualified by an ECP bench led by Chief Election Commissioner Faisal Sultan Raja for concealing his dual nationality, and he was ordered to return the salary and other benefits he had received while serving as a minister and a member of the National Assembly within two months of being disqualified. He was also de-notified of his position as a senator.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Latest news
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x